Simplistic Thanks

Realizing how overdressed I am to be entering an ER or medical facility of any sorts – I lock the car and head towards the doors I was entering not even 2 weeks before. As i make my way to the doors I note on how balmy and unusually warm the weather is for the day before Thanksgiving – 54 degrees is insane for this north land.

These automatic doors have a special way of making you feel as though you are with the force – as quickly as they let you in, they begin to close to keep the cold winds out – they haven’t gotten the memo on the spring like weather. Approaching the doors I wondered how many people would be in the waiting room – was it like two Sundays ago, filled to the brim with sick people? It was around the holidays where an unusual amount of people begin to get sick for inexplicable reasons – other than it’s Minnesota. I was wrong – there wasn’t a single soul in the Emergency waiting room – it was eerily refreshing to know that most people were safe at home with their families.

As I approach the desk a gentlemen no more than my age asks how he can help me – he eyes my clothing and heels and realizes I’m probably not there for any type of emergency, hopefully including a fashion one. I politely ask if a Doctor Amdahl is currently on or if any of his staff are working – sadly no. That was alright I came prepared for that – Emergency room doctor’s working hours are about as predictable as when it’s going to snow in these parts. I handed over the carefully crafted thank you card I had purchased and written in the day we were here last – it sounds crazy because by all odds I wouldn’t have a chance of delivering it – I’d like to say we beat the odds.

The gentlemen at the front desk now completely confused just looks at me and says, “Is there something you’d like me to do with it” I smile, “Well yes it would be great if you could give it to him or put it in a mailbox of sorts – I think he needs to get that letter, he saved my brothers life”. The man looked at me quizzically and I briefly explained – he stood up from behind the desk, walked around to me and gave me a hug – I learned that this was Dr. Amdahl’s son and he’d heard his fair share of horror stories.

Unfortunately I didn’t get to shake the Doctors hand, I didn’t get to look him in the eye and thank him for the wonderful work him and his team of 7 triage nurses did, I didn’t get to express my deepest gratitude or heartfelt thank you with this person, and it was all ok. I know that they work in the most thankless job a person could have and watch lives come in and out everyday – some not making it and most being ungrateful for the care they are given. I thought it was appropriate that my family and I took the time to go and thank the man that had a large portion in saving my brother’s life.

I wanted to acknowledge the man that sat my parents down to give them the talk that there may be no good end of this – the man that although had the funeral planning talk with my parents still performed 110% at his job, the man that has a family of his own at home that loves and is thankful for him, should know that many more people are grateful for everything he does and has done.

Although I didn’t get to see the doctor face to face I know the letter will find him in good health and comfort and when my brother is feeling better we will be taking a trip to shake this mans hand. More than anything I could have wished for, for not only my birthday, but this thankful holiday season, this man singlehandedly gave my brother his life back, his heartbeat, and his breath – he gave us a wakeup call as a family and a reality check as humans – this man has a more powerful job than he knows, he not only saved my brother, but he saved us as a family.

This holiday season I can’t even list out the things I am thankful for because they are in such abundance and in such simplistic terms it almost feels silly – but I feel it appropriate to express gratitude where it is needed – even if it means giving a card to a man who may not even remember us.

I am so very thankful for family, and as cliche as many people think that is, I can honestly say there was a large portion of recent time where I didn’t think I cared that much about them – and as evil as those words are to leave my lips the only thing I can point out is that to know how much you truly love and appreciate a strong entity of siblings and parent dynamics you must have never wanted it or acknowledged it in the first place. I am so thankful for all these doctors and nurses that put their hard work into saving my brothers life, their care and compassion has truly changed me. I’m thankful for my brother to be alive – it’s as simple as that, because to be quite honest he shouldn’t be sitting in the room next to me – or be eating turkey across the table from me today, he is a fighter and a medical miracle, and I’m proud to be his sister.
I’m thankful for the many positive influences thrust into my life some by choice and most by force – I’ve truly opened my eyes in the past year to see where I’ve come from what I’ve become and where I’m going – i’m thankful for everyone having a positive influence to see that and send me in that direction.

In finality I’m thankful for all the unexpected blessings in my life – whether they be in the form of unexpected friends, creative minds, long distant families I will soon meet, survivors, hearing peoples stories, learning, living, and breathing, becoming who I want to be on my own accord, positivity, strength, and being in a relationship with God again…it’s been far too long. Thank you to everyone and anyone that is on a positive path this holiday season – continue your journey for you’re in the right direction, people will always be willing to stand in your way – it’s how you handle the obstacle and hurdle that makes you along the way. Thank you for any friend, family member, foe, stranger or silent onlooker for any positive thoughts and prayers sent to my brother, my family, and I during one of our hardest moments as a family – from the bottom of my heart we can’t thank you enough and I can’t tell you how it truly played a part in all of us sitting here today – thank you and God Bless.

Remember hug the ones you love – they’ll hug back, tell people you love them when you feel it and when you mean it, call the person you’re missing just to hear their voice, and always be kind to one another – we’re all facing a battle of our own kind in our own way.
Be Thankful. Be Well
Meg

One thought on “Simplistic Thanks

Leave a Reply

