As Long As I’m Living My Mommy You’ll Be


Though the 80’s and early 90’s weren’t the best of years for my families hairstyle or clothing choices I must admit my mom made some pretty wicked looking clothes for me to wear. From that birthday to this birthday I am so very thankful for my mother for so many reasons I don’t even know where to begin. Although she gave me a mushroom cut from the 1st – 4th grade I forgave her for that, although I look like I was the adopted kid in the family I’ve also forgiven her for that. Ask any of my siblings and they will tell you that I was and always have been a mommy’s girl – yes we butt heads like a bunch of ugly rhinosaurus from time to time, who doesn’t but more importantly on this day 23 years ago I am thankful for the sacrifices you made to give me the gift of life mom.


At that time my mother had the ability to say she didn’t want me or didn’t want to have me – I wouldn’t have faulted her for that, and I probably would’ve never known, but she didn’t, she put her dreams and goals for herself on the back burner and prepared for her third and final child. I have two older siblings whom I’m very close too – we look nothing alike and fight like mad monkeys but we love each other, I don’t know how my mom did it because from time to time I want to kick the shit out of us and we’re all over the age of 20.
My mom wasn’t in the most opportune of moments to have a child of my ‘caliber’ at that moment of life – unwed and already spread thin with working and being super mom she still chose to make the right decision and I can’t thank her enough for it. I have clung to my mom since I was a baby, I’m now 23 and still crawl into bed to get a back scratch and a snuggle from time to time, and when I get married (if that shit happens) my husband will just have to get it and get over it the way my step dad had to adapt to the magnetism of my mom and I’s relationship.


She has been mom and dad for most of my life, she’s been superwoman for almost all of it, and she has been pretty selfless since the day I was born. Thank you mom – simple as that. Thank you for putting your dreams aside to make sure I could grow up knowing it was ok to have some of my own, thank you for pushing me when I needed it, and being a hand to hold when I didn’t want to be pushed. Thank you for the years of back scratches, miles of laughter, and years of memories – you’ve taught me how to be a strong woman, how to stand for what I believe in and how to always chase my dreams no matter who is standing in my way. Thank you for coming around and believing in my dreams when you saw how passionate I was about them, thank you for being proud of me, and thank you for your endless efforts in catapulting me to success. You recently told me that I was your inspiration and you sit back and watch your daughter just shy of 23 in awe at how you raised such a headstrong individual that makes decisions and paves her own path in life – I hope you know that it was through you being my inspiration I learned to do that, no matter who I am or what spunk I possess – I wouldn’t have known where to even place my first step on my own path had it not been for you. You stared adversity in the face and said bring it on – 3 jobs, 3 kids, a single mother – we were poor as shit and couldn’t afford much, but we were so happy and so close with one another that our love was paying any bills we couldn’t attain. Thank you for slicing all the odds against me and giving me the life you knew I deserved – On this day 23 years ago you told me you were given the ‘greatest gift any mom could ask for’ now on this day I want you to know how much I appreciate you and how much of a gift you’ve been in my life.

Like you always read to me “I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always as long as I’m living my baby you’ll be”
Love you mommy

-Your Baby

Leave a Reply

